ICR Manchester, July 31-August 2, 2019

Conference Theme: Romanticism Now and Then

Principal Organiser: Emily Rohrbach

Welcome to the website for the 2019 International Conference on Romanticism, hosted by the University of Manchester. Marking the 200th anniversary of Peterloo, the conference will be held July 31-August 2, 2019. We are pleased to bring ICR to the UK for the first time since the conference was founded.

Register here—->  estore  Trouble registering? Contact: cashiers@manchester.ac.uk  We have added day rates for local visitors; if you are presenting at the conference, you are expected to pay the three-day fee (now: £140/£160/£200).

ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT: The Friends’ Meeting House, located at 6 Mount Street in Manchester city centre, will be our main conference venue. We’re pleased to be working with Friends’ Meeting House not least for their impressive commitment to sustainability. We suggest that delegates bring a water bottle or travel mug if they wish to take beverages to go. As for travel, we recommend taking the train or public transportation whenever possible. Once in Manchester, the city is very walkable. We’ve scheduled a conversation about conferencing and the environment for the final day of ICR with the aim of generating ideas about what we can do better in our professional practice.

2019 Lore Metzger Prize Committee: Clara Dawson, Noelle Gallagher, Carmen Faye Mathes, Emily Rohrbach (chair), Sharon Ruston, and Mike Sanders.

We are grateful to our generous supporters: The John Rylands Research Institute, SEL: Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900, The Byron Society, Romanticism on the Net, Essays in Romanticism, and the University of Manchester’s School of Arts, Languages, and Cultures.


Image source: Manchester Library Services

Lead Organiser: Emily Rohrbach.  Advisory Committee: Naomi Billingsley, Clara Dawson, Noelle Gallagher, Hal Gladfelder, Ingrid Hanson, Vladimir Kapor, Carmen Faye Mathes, Alan Rawes (co-organiser), Sharon Ruston, Michael Sanders, Joanna Taylor, Colin Trodd, Natalie Zacek. Conference Assistants: Federica Coluzzi, Imogen Durant, Gurnaik Johal, Devi Joshi, Urussa Malik, Alice Marples, Hannah McAuliffe, Gillian Redfern


Abstracts due 15 January to icrmcr2019@gmail.com (see CFP page for more info).

Follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/ICRMCR2019